pasterdig.blogg.se

2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems
2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems











2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems

But, like the original, it too will fail early due to the higher demand on drawing the fuel through the blockage. But if the problem is systemic to the fuel delivery system prior to the fuel pump pursuant to the referenced study, then a new pump will be able to draw fuel better/serve as a temporary fix. The mechanic wants to replace the fuel pump, fuel filter, fuel filter hose and fuel return line. After two minutes in place the vehicle recovered and I was able to proceed. Fortunately I was albe to pull over to the shoulder, whereupon the vehicle would not accelerate in any gear/was completely asthmatic. 2nd incident was the next day (today) where I was shifting from around 25 mph into third gear in morning rush hour traffic and was nearly rear-ended because the vehicle stalled. The car recovered after a near stall with oncoming traffic approaching. Speed there was acceleration from 12 mph up into 2nd gear. 1st symptom was loss of power upon shifting into 2nd gear. Any relation?.įuel delivery problem, possibly vapor lock/fuel pump related (a common $450-$600 repair way too early in the life of the 2000 & 2001 Ford Focus according to anecdotal e-mail evidence on internet chat sites), but equally likely to be related to ea02-022. I see the 2000-2001 Focus had a stalling problem also. Until the problem is eliminated, I am reluctant to take my car home. There is definitely a major problem that must be fixed, or I feel my safety is in jeopardy. I left a message on his voicemail, explaining my fear of a collision. The service attendant, mike bruni, stated he had documented the problem and I could pick up my car. I had assumed this would happen, because the problem is so intermittent. I received a phone message Friday evening, after work, and I was told the car has checked out fine.

2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems

I took it to palm springs Ford, where it is right now. The same as before, I placed my car in park, let it idle for a couple of minutes, put it in drive, and it was fine. I began losing speed and had to coast down to the bottom of the grade, where there was parking accessibility. I glanced down at the automatic shift lever, to see if I had accidentally knocked it out of gear. It was as though my car had slipped into neutral.

2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems

I began pumping the gas pedal, but the motor just revved. Now, several weeks later, I was driving about 65mph down a dangerous winding grade near my home in morongo valley. I was advised to let the gas tank go to empty, add stp, and see if the problem ceased. I took my car to the san diego Ford dealership and was told no problem could be detected. After a few minutes, I put the car back in drive and all was fine. I pulled into the first parking lot, put my car in neutral, and let it idle. Finally, although somewhat chugging, I got enough acceleration to weave out of traffic and exit at an offramp. I began pumping the gas pedal, thinking a fuel line might be clogged, but it didn't seem to help. The car runs very rough for several seconds (spitting and sputtering is how I describe it) and then clears out.Īpproximately 2 months ago, I was traveling at 70 mph in freeway traffic, and my 2003 Ford Focus quit accelerating. Pushing in the accelerator pedal does not make the rpms go up. It acts like it is going to die and the rpms go down. To be clear, the car has not totally stalled due to this problem. I am taking the car in on Novemto get repaired. The service manager told me he had heard of the problem, but had never had a customer that had a problem with it. I contacted the local Ford dealership on November 11, 2003. I believe the problem is the lining of the gas tank coming loose and keeping the fuel delivery module from taking up as much gas as the car needs to keep running. I saw that many people were suffering this problem and learned what the probable cause was. I did some research on this incident after the last incident. Before the last incident, I thought that if I made sure the gas tank was not low the car would be okay. It last a few seconds and then cleared up. On Novemwhile on the interstate traveling at 65 mph with 1/2 tank of gas the car started going through fuel starvation. Now the car has approximately 46,000 miles on it. The severity and frequency of the car stalling gradually became worse over a few months time. This usually occurred when accelerating on an interstate on ramp and was (and still is) potentially dangerous. The car would spit and sputter for a few seconds and then it would clear up and be fine.

#2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems full

Shortly after when the gas tank would be 1/4 full and below the car would experience what felt like fuel starvation, frequently in coordination with a sharp turn.

2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems

Around approximately 36,000 miles I started noticing the engine missing.













2002 ford focus 2.0 fuel pump driver module problems